Chemistry Department NMAM


Partnering with core disciplines of engineering to develop competent engineers with inquisitiveness towards science research and applications.
The Department is committed to nurture students to achieve their academic potential, independent thoughts, high ethical standards and to establish inter-disciplinary research programmes.
The Department Chemistry, since its establishment in 1986, has been playing a profound role in providing a strong basic foundation for first year BE level students. The Department offers Engineering Chemistry and Engineering Chemistry Laboratory courses at first and second semester level to approximately 900 students of all branches as a foundation course. The Department practices Outcome Based Education since 2014. The Department has been recognized as a Research Centre by VTU in the year 2011 and presently a total of 7 research scholars are pursuing their Ph.D. programmes in this Research Centre. The Department has been awarded external and internal research funds and has 40 research papers published in national and international journals to its credit. The Department has well qualified and experienced staffs who involve themselves actively to achieve the vision and mission of the Department
Faculty Details

Dr. Ramesh Bhat
M.Sc. Ph.D
Associate Professor/HOD
Electrochemistry & Corrosion Inhibition
Dr. Janardhan Nayak
M.Sc. Ph.D
Synthetic Organic Chemistry
Mr. Shivaprasad
M.Sc., (Ph.D)
Assistant Professor
Natural Products Chemistry
Dr. Aarti S Bhat
M.Sc., Ph.D
Assistant Professor Gd-III
Nanochemistry and Polymer Composites
Dr. Subramanya I Bhat
M.Sc., Ph.D
Assistant Professor Gd-III
Green Chemistry
Ms. Neetha Nirupama
M.Sc., Ph.D
Asst. Professor
Research Scholar
Synthetic Organic Chemistry